Wellbeing

We will actively promote injury management and the health and wellbeing of workers.

Looking after the wellbeing of those working in your organisation can have significant benefits for them and for your organisation. Not only improving health outcomes for everyone on site, but improving mental health and retaining positive attitudes while at work.

Research

In 2015 WorkSafe ran a mobile occupational health van in Christchurch to carry out health checks of construction workers as part of its Canterbury Rebuild Health and Safety programme. Construction companies requested to have the van visit their sites and 272 construction workers took the opportunity to have a health check. 43 construction workers (16%) were advised to seek a further evaluation from a doctor as their results indicated they may be at risk of cardiovascular disease (heart, stroke and blood vessel disease) and diabetes. This provided an excellent mechanism for discussing worker’s health with them, with a particular focus on the risks posed to their health by their workplace. The project was supported by the Canterbury Rebuild Safety Charter (The Charter). You can read the full report here.

Health and Safety service providers – Canterbury/Westland area

The following organisations provide health monitoring and/or worker exposure assessments:

Company Phone Website or Email
Bernadette Olsen (Occupational Health Nurse, Greymouth) 027 2325342 southernrehab.co.nz/
Dean Davey (West Coast) 021 020 60911 wcoast.occhealth@xtra.co.nz
Employee Wellbeing Health and Safety Limited 027 539 0140 catherine@employeewellbeing.co.nz
K2 Environmental Ltd 03 384 8966 www.k2.co.nz
Leading Edge Health and Safety Ltd 027 537 1156 nikki@leadingedge.gen.nz
Life Care Consultants 0800 493 559 info@lifecare.co.nz
OH Well 03 377 2661 ingrid@ohwell.co.nz
People Care (West Coast) 021 265 1292 neilsonp@xtra.co.nz
SimOcc Consulting Ltd 03 9420 451 prsimmonds@clear.net.nz
Timaru Occupational Health Services 03 686 0133 tohs@xtra.co.nz
TriEx Health, Safety and Wellness Ltd 0800 487 439  www.triex.co.nz
Vitality Works 0800 222 949 www.vitalityworks.co.nz/contact/

The following organisations and individuals provide health and safety consulting services:

Company Phone Website or email
Canterbury Employers Chamber of Commerce 03 366 5096 www.cecc.org.nz
Denis Richards Health and Safety (Timaru) 027 228 5594
Ergonomics, Work & Health Ltd 0800 893 446 www.ewh.co.nz
Hazard Co 0800 555 339 www.hazardco.com
Independent Consultancy Services Ltd 03 326 3101 www.ics.co.nz
Lucas Safety 03 384 0555 www.lucassafety.co.nz
New Zealand Occupational Health Nurses’ Association
(can give advice on Occupational Health Nurses working in NZ)
021 241 6822 Bernie Morton (Administrator)
e-mail: admin.nzohna@gmail.com
OHS Consultants Ltd 03 928 1720 www.ohsconsultants.nz
Rockhard Safety 03 377 3521 www.rhsconsulting.co.nz
Workplace Safety Systems Ltd 027 612 6068
Workplace Safety Systems Ltd (South Canterbury Area) 03 612 6058

Please note this list is based on information at the time of complication and is NOT intended to be a comprehensive list. Please check online or in the yellow pages for a full list. The Canterbury Rebuild Safety Charter cannot recommend any particular service provider.
Updated 4 August 2016